10 Things I want my Daughter to Know About Working Out

trainer cheering clients
Thought I would share this article for those of you that have daughters.
http://wellfesto.com/2013/11/19/10-things-i-want-my-daughter-to-know-about-working-out/

I love the writer’s outlook on exercise, “And when it comes to exercise, I want her to grow up seeing it as a joy, and not a utility…as a gift, and not a chore…as an opportunity, not an obligation”

I too look forward to my workouts, especially running, and I hope to instill that same passion for exercise in my clients. Of course, everyone is motivated in a different way. Many people (including myself) are at least partially motivated by “looks”. So, I’m not saying trainers shouldn’t ever encourage clients with comments concerning their physical appearance as a result of exercising. For the most part, though, we should encourage people by emphasizing the gains they will see in energy level, positive moods, strength and power, decrease in illness, and an overall good feeling of well-being.

Beverages: Normal 70-90 ounces water, 2 cups coffee in AM
Exercise: Trail ran with dog, about 5 miles. Taught integrated strength – 1 hour
Breakfast:
Old fashioned oats cooked, added trail mix, 1 pack sugar in the raw, cranberries, and almond milk
Lunch:
salad with blue cheese
Typical salad with grilled chicken – greens, broccoli, carrots, tomatoes, olives, avocado, blue cheese oil and lemon juice for dressing.
Snacks: Quest bar (GNC) (1/2 in AM ½ in PM) Apple
Supper: Repeat! Sweet potato fries (baked with olive oil), Portobello mushroom veggie burger and green salad. Rich didn’t end up making it home, so I ate his too! All of the Portobello mushrooms and part of the veggie burger!
Burger

Leave a Reply

