“Prepare him Room – Christmas Lists” James Howell, Myers Park United Methodist, Charlotte


I, like Reverend Howell, am a compulsive list maker. My husband makes fun of me and claims I make “lists for my lists!” I even make lists on my iPad now to be technological savvy 🙂
To do list

During the holiday season, we keep address lists for Christmas Cards, lists for those to give gifts, lists that our children make for Christmas wishes, lists of things to do, and the list goes on and on (pun intended)

One of my favorite lists is Amy Grant’s Grown Up Christmas List:
“Grown-Up Christmas List”
music notes

Do you remember me
I sat upon your knee
I wrote to you with childhood fantasies

Well I’m all grown-up now
And still need help somehow
I’m not a child
But my heart still can dream

So here’s my lifelong wish
My grown-up Christmas list
Not for myself
But for a world in need

[Chorus:]
No more lives torn apart
That wars would never start
And time would heal all hearts
Everyone would have a friend
And right would always win
And love would never end
This is my grown-up Christmas list

As children we believed
The grandest sight to see
Was something lovely
Wrapped beneath our tree

Well heaven surely knows
That packages and bows
Can never heal a hurting human soul

[Chorus]

What is this illusion called
The innocence of youth
Maybe only in our blind belief
Can we ever find the truth

[Chorus]
music notes
“Grown-Up Christmas List”

Food for today:
Another eat-out day…traveling, running errands, busy-busy. Starbucks oats for breakfast with dried blueberries and nuts. Love the blueberries as an alternative to cranberries. Zoe’s kitchen orzo salad with shrimp kabobs for lunch. Supper was at a Christmas party. Food was great but limited, so I had a little bit of vegetarian pasta and 3 helpings of salad. Snacks: trail mix, apple and peanut butter

Leave a Reply

