Eat Your Breakfast!

Kristins breakfast
Guest Post by my Daughter, Kristin! Enjoy!
“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”

“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”

“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet.

Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.”
― A.A. Milne

BREAKFAST SUPERFOOD PARFAIT (You have to start eating breakfast!)

Disclaimer: I am not a food snob, I just like to know what I'm putting in my body 🙂 this is doable for anyone.

Benefits of this Superfood Breakfast! Packed to the max with protein, vitamins and minerals, antioxidants, fiber, and essential fatty acids, this breakfast will fire up your metabolism, keep it burning throughout the day, and help you stay fuller, longer, while giving you lots of energy.

Ingredients

1/2 cup Vanilla Greek Yogurt (find the brand with the highest protein/lowest sugar ratio)
Tablespoon or two of raw Pumpkin puree (depends on how much you like the taste)
Small handful of superfood trail mix ( see below for my favorite organic mix from Whole Foods)
Tablespoon flaxseed (see picture below for some of my favorite, tasty versions)
Pinch of cinnamon or pumpkin spice (usually a blend cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom, cloves)
Drizzle of honey to taste

Mix all that up and
BOOM!

Kristins breakfast ing1

Kristinsbreakfast ing2

**My Trail Mix – I typically go to the grocery store and buy these ingredients, then mix my own trail mix at home. My favorite is a combination of (give or take a few): raw cashews, almonds, brazil nuts, walnuts, pepitas (pumpkin seeds), raw unsweetened coconut flakes, blueberries, goji berries, mulberries and cranberries.
(Advisory: stay away from salted mixes or ones high in added sugar i.e. ones with peanuts, caramel/chocolate chips, m&ms, candied fruit etc. these contain too much fat/unnecessary calories)

Bonus: Consuming Cinnamon (in moderation, as large quantities can be poisonous, not advised for patients on prescription blood thinners) has been linked to lowering bad cholesterol, regulating blood sugar, and having antibacterial and anti fungal properties.

Bonus 2: pumpkin is really good for you (I don’t mean in pie form, unfortunately). Raw pumpkin is a great source of vitamin A and E, iron, fiber, and has been known to help reduce inflammation. I personally, have noticed that my eyes have gotten brighter from all the Vitamin A, whaaat? 🙂

Bonus 3: ’cause I’m gettin crazy! This breakfast tastes like autumn (yum).

pooh and piglet

Leave a Reply

