“O, wind, if winter comes, can spring be far behind?” Percy Bysshe Shelley

Fill yourself with Goodness, and you'll fill your World with Greatness

snowflakes

So, I had hoped to make the pumpkin stew for supper on this freezing cold night (in Week Three’s suggested recipes).
But, I looked all around for a pumpkin and could not find one anywhere! Where is a pumpkin when you need it? 🙂

jackolanterns

I should still be doing what my mother (depression era) taught us to do. June would have us scrape off the black stuff and chop up our jack o lanterns the day after Halloween. We would then either cook the pumpkin and freeze or just freeze as is. I adopted this habit so that I would have pumpkin for my pies and bread for Thanksgiving and Christmas, but unfortunately life got too busy. No more pumpkin in the freezer.

Hence, I adapted the recipe and put a chopped sweet potato, a can of pumpkin, and chicken broth so it wasn’t quite so thick.
sautéed onions, garlic…

View original post 47 more words

Leave a Reply

