Dear Stress…Let’s Break Up

bodymindspirit2

Why does stress plague us so much? I googled “anxiety” definitions, and what I found most interesting are the synonyms:

worry, concern, apprehension, apprehensiveness, consternation, uneasiness, unease, fearfulness, fear, disquiet, disquietude, perturbation, fretfulness, agitation, angst, nervousness, nerves, edginess, tension, tenseness, stress, misgiving, trepidation, foreboding, suspense

And I would add…developing dread, overwhelming heaviness, and even temporary paralysis in the case of generalized anxiety.

bodymindspirit1
So, how should we deal with anxiousness, stress, and anxiety even when they are not overwhelming? I am definitely not qualified to give out advice on alleviating stress and anxiety, so I have been doing quite a bit of reading on the subject over the last year. My most consistent findings are:
1. Diet: Trying to eliminate fast food and processed foods from your diet including drinks (sodas and non-natural energy drinks)
2. Taking up Yoga and learning to meditate
3. Getting enough sleep

Sleeping-Makes-a-Woman-More-Beautiful

In addition to the above, many experts advise naming and classifying stress. Ask yourself questions such as how is this situation making me feel? Is this good stress? (like the type of stress an athlete feels when pushing themselves through competition) What is this stressful feeling teaching me? Can I change my situation and if not, what is the best way to get through it without judging myself? Keep positive and look at the situation as “Glass Half Full” rather than “Glass Half Empty.”

Finally, I am accumulating a list of techniques that people find successful when they wake up in the middle of the night with anxiety and have trouble going back to sleep:
Counting by 3 backwards from 300, breathing holding for 3 seconds, long exhale, writing things down before bed, praying for everyone other than yourself, repeat positive phrases…I’m okay…I’m doing the best that I can…I intend for only good…

bodymindspirit3

Leave a Reply

