Surviving in Isolation

 

excitement

Control vs. Giving up Control

Going to lay myself out there right now!  I am pretty much a control freak.  So when something as massive as this pandemic threatens not only my physical well-being, financial well-being, and most importantly my emotional well-being, I feel out of control.

I as well as others were somewhat resistant to recommendations that were coming from around the world, yet I fell one step ahead of the game as several close friends and family members were aware of the dire situation.  I was sending out emails to managers, colleagues, friends, and family well ahead of stay at home orders.

We, as residents of the US (most of the time) can control our outcomes.  Yet, this Covid-19 is something we cannot control and that makes us feel helpless.  I finally decided to give up control yesterday.  It took a lot of convincing (me inside my own head), but I realized I needed “to chill” so to speak.

bodymindspirit2

So work-wise, physical, mental, and emotional wise:

  • I’m learning all I can through Zoom meeting and Webinars
  • Physical Health-wise: Take recommended supplements (earlier post).  Cook organic, preferably deliveries, lots of sleep and exercise, get outside
  • Mental Health-wise:  Stay attuned with what is going on in the world, but don’t be obsessed (this is hard for me as I am online all day long).  Make lists for what you can do to keep yourself afloat and ready to rebound when the time comes.
  • Emotional Health-wise:  The is the tough one.  All of us are dealing with different situations…1) Big Family, Home Schooling, Spouse working at home 2) Empty nesters…college or after are at home trying to school or work 3) Divorced or widowed singles with no hope of contact 4) Elderly (and most likely alone) in a care facility and I’m sure other scenarios

outside paddle

Managing Stress – CDC

John’s Hopkins

Mayo Clinic

Suicide Prevention

Mental Health Corona

So, Im in #3, alone with no definitive timeline of when I will see my girls.  A “hug” may come months from now.  But I am hopeful.  My coping strategies are:

Outside class

  1. Gratitudes every morning
  2. Gratitudes mid-day
  3. Gratitudes at night.  I make note of anything positive that has occurred during the day
  4. Getting out in the woods – a big uplift for me
  5. Journaling – putting down my feelings on paper is very powerful and releases those feelings from my body
  6. Devotionals – reading what has helped others helps me
  7. Listening (or playing) music
  8. Yoga…I know! People are like duh, everyone says yoga…but there are so many forms and there is something right for everyone. Check out Daily Om 15 minute yoga for a once a day
  9. Meditations: mine are looking out at nature and trying not to think about anything but the moment
  10. Find ways to help others: Mine are #1) resurrecting my wellness blog #2) giving to local food banks #3) sewing masks

Please feel free to share your coping strategies and as always, thanks for reading and visiting my site!

surgery progression

 

Leave a comment